Juveniles / Minors

Mandatory Appearance
  • Juveniles: The law requires ALL juveniles (16 and under) to appear before the judge with a parent or legal guardian regardless of the offense. The court will notify you of your arraignment date by mail, sent to the address listed on the citation. If you were issued a citation, you may disregard the appearance date noted.
  • Minors (17-20) charged with alcohol / tobacco / drug paraphernalia / theft or disorderly conduct offenses must also appear before the judge. If you are under the age of 18, you must appear with a parent or legal guardian. The court will notify you of your arraignment date by mail, sent to the address listed on the citation. If you were issued a citation, you may disregard the appearance date noted.
Alcohol & Tobacco Offenses
In addition to paying a fine / fee, these two offenses have specific requirements i.e., alcohol or tobacco awareness course and community service, that if not completed will result in your driver’s license being suspended or denied issuance of a driver’s license or permit for a period up to six months.

Expunctions
Court personnel are prohibited in advising or assisting you in the preparation of your petition for expunction. You have a constitutional right to retain legal counsel at your own expense or you can represent yourself in this action as a “pro-se” defendant.

Alcohol
All procedures concerning expunction of any alcohol violation by a minor (under 21 years of age) shall comply with Section 106.12 of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code.

Tobacco
All procedures concerning expunction of any tobacco violation by a minor (under 18 years of age) shall comply with Section 161.255 of the Texas Health and Safety Code.

Penal Offenses
All procedures concerning expunction of penal violations by a juvenile (under 17 years of age) shall comply with Article 45.0216 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.

Resources